🔍 📞 🔍
Main Menu
Sign into your HANYS account

Geriatric Emergency Department Accreditation, New York State Cohort

The New York state cohort is supported by the John A. Hartford Foundation.

Geriatric emergency department accreditation is a nationwide initiative developed by leaders in emergency medicine to ensure older patients receive well-coordinated, appropriate, quality care during every ED encounter.

This program improves the care of older adults in the ED by promoting improvements in:

  • staffing and education;
  • geriatric-focused policies and protocols, including transitions of care;
  • quality improvement and metrics; and
  • optimal preparation of the environment.

Hospitals pursuing geriatric ED accreditation can expect to improve care provided to older adults in the ED, establish resources required to provide high-quality care and signal to the public a focus on providing the highest standard of care for older adults in the community.

Thanks to the generous support of the John A. Hartford Foundation, here are no fees to participate in the Geriatric ED Collaborative or apply for initial Level 3 (Bronze) accreditation.

Accreditation Levels

There are three accreditation levels. All hospitals participating in the New York state geriatric emergency department cohort in 2023 are pursuing bronze accreditation. In future years, hospitals may "level up" to Level 2 (Silver) and/or Level 1 (Gold) accreditation.

Level 3 medalion

Level 3 (Bronze)

  • The ED practices one or more geriatric-specific initiatives reasonably expected to elevate the level of elder care provided in one or more specific areas.
  • Personnel to implement these efforts are identified and trained.
Level 2 medalion

Level 2 (Silver)

  • The site has integrated and sustained initiatives for the care of older adults into daily operations.
  • It demonstrates interdisciplinary cooperation for delivery of age-friendly services under an established supervisor or director to coordinate the staff who perform these services.
Level 1 medalion

Level 1 (Gold)

  • The ED uses policies, guidelines, procedures and staff (in the ED and system-wide) to provide a coherent system of care.
  • This level of care targets and measures ED outcomes and elevates operations and care transitions, both to and from the ED.
  • It implements additional physical enhancements to improve care for older adults.

Hospitals pursuing geriatric ED accreditation in the HANYS 2023 cohort

Emergency Department City
Catholic Health Mercy Hospital (Long Island) Rockville Centre
Catholic Health Mercy Hospital of Buffalo Buffalo
Catholic Health St. Catherine of Siena Hospital Smithtown
Catholic Health St. Charles Hospital Port Jefferson
Columbia Memorial Hospital Hudson
Erie County Medical Center Buffalo
Montefiore Medical Center – Moses Campus Bronx
Montefiore Medical Center – Wakefield Campus Bronx
Montefiore Medical Center – Weiler Campus Bronx
Montefiore Medical Center – Westchester Square Bronx
Montefiore Mount Vernon Mount Vernon
Montefiore New Rochelle New Rochelle
Montefiore Nyack Nyack
Montefiore St. Luke's Cornwall Newburgh
Montefiore White Plains Hospital White Plains
Mount Sinai – Beth Israel New York
Mount Sinai – Brooklyn Brooklyn
Mount Sinai – Morning Side New York
Mount Sinai – Queens Astoria
Mount Sinai – South Nassau Oceanside
Mount Sinai – The Mount Sinai Hospital New York
Mount Sinai – West New York
Nassau University Medical Center East Meadow
NYC Health + Hospitals – Queens Queens
UVM Health Network – Central Vermont Medical Center Berlin, VT
UVM Health Network – Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital Plattsburgh
UVM Health Network – Elizabethtown Community Hospital Elizabethtown
UVM Health Network – Main Campus (Burlington, VT) Burlington, VT
UVM Health Network – Porter Medical Center Middlebury, VT
Wyckoff Heights Medical Center Brooklyn

New York state accredited geriatric EDs

Emergency Department Accreditation Level City
Glen Cove Hospital 1 Glen Cove
The Mount Sinai Hospital 2 New York
Unity Hospital Rochester 2 Rochester
Highland Hospital 2 Rochester
Rochester General Hospital 2 Rochester
VA Western New York Healthcare System 2 Buffalo
Syracuse VA Medical Center 2 Syracuse
Stony Brook University Medical Center  2 Stony Brook 
Thompson Health 3 Canandaigua
North Shore University Hospital 3 Manhasset
Lenox Hill HealthPlex 3 New York
Northern Westchester Hospital Center 3 Mount Kisco
Franklin Hospital 3 Valley Stream
Long Island Jewish Medical Center 3 New Hyde Park
Lenox Hill Hospital 3 New York
Crouse Hospital 3 Syracuse
Jamaica Hospital Medical Center 3 Jamaica
Phelps Memorial Hospital Center 3 Sleepy Hollow
Staten Island University Hospital North 3 Staten Island
Huntington Hospital 3 Huntington
Plainview Hospital 3 Plainview
John T Mather Memorial Hospital 3 Port Jefferson
South Shore University Hospital 3 Bayshore
Forest Hills Hospital 3 Forest Hills
Syosset Hospital  3 Syosset
Peconic Bay Medical Center 3 Riverhead
Staten Island University Hospital South 3 Staten Island
Mount Sinai West 3 New York
Mount Sinai St. Luke's 3 New York
Clifton Springs Hospital & Clinic 3 Clifton Springs
United Memorial Medical Center 3 Batavia 
New York Presbyterian Columbia University Medical Center 3 New York
Flushing Hospital Medical Center 3 Flushing
Mount Sinai Queens 3 Long Island 
Newark Wayne Community Hospital 3 Newark
Mount Sinai South Nassau 3 Oceanside
Mount Sinai Beth Israel 3 New York
Margaret Cochran Corbin Campus Manhattan Veterans Affairs 3 Manhattan
Veterans Affairs Medical Center Brooklyn 3 Brooklyn
Ascension Via Christi Hospital Manhattan 3 Manhattan
Kings County Hospital Center  3 Brooklyn
St. Barnabas Hospital * 3 Bronx
Eastern Niagara Hospital - Lockport * 3 Lockport

* HANYS New York Collaborative participant


In collaboration with:

ACEP Geriatic logo GEDC logo